Charles H. Thomsen

Year of Investiture:

A dual Citizen of both Canada and the United States, Charlie was born and raised in Chicago, and has made Winnipeg his home since 1976.   Formal education includes a bachelor of Fine Arts in Landscape Architecture degree from the University of Illinois in 1964, and a Master's degree in Regional Planning from the University of Pennsylvania in 1972.  During his full-time teaching as a professor at the University of Manitoba he served terms as Head of the Department of Landscape Architecture, Director of the Environmental Design Program, and Associate Dean in the Faculty of Architecture.  Now retired from teaching after 36 years he is a Professor Emeritus with the Faculty.  He is a member of the Manitoba Association of Landscape Architects, a Fellow of the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects, and a member of the American Society of Landscape Architects.  He is also a licensed Landscape Architect in the State of Pennsylvania.

His professional private practice has included employment in landscape planning and design firms in San Francisco, Denver and Philadelphia, as well as Winnipeg.  He has been a member of the Governor's Design Team for the State of Minnesota and a member of the international RUDAT (Regional and Urban Design Assistance Team) for the American Institute of Architects.  Additional service activities include membership on the Board of Directors of the International Peace Garden, President, and Chair of the IPG Planning Committee.  He has coordinated the 9/11 Memorial Design Competition for the International Peace Garden in 2002, and the Peace Tower Competition in 2015.  Charlie has been on the Board of Directors of the Winnipeg Children's Museum, and was a founding Board member of the Friends of the Assiniboine Park Conservatory.  For his service efforts within the community he was recipient of the Dr. and Mrs. Ralph Campbell Outreach Award at the University of Manitoba in 1998, and the President’s Award from the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects in 2001.  He was also recipient of an outstanding Teaching Award from the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects in 2009.

CSLA | AAPC 12 Forillon Crescent, Ottawa ON K2M 2W5