About the Northwest Territories Association of Landscape Architects

The NWT Association of Landscape Architects (NWTALA) was formally accepted as a component association of the CSLA on January 1, 1991. The NWTALA was the first component association to represent landscape architects practicing north of the 60th parallel in Canada. Operations are chiefly carried out in Yellowknife, NT.

The objectives of the association are:

  • To provide an opportunity to discuss design and landscape issues with landscape architects and other design professions;
  • To promote improved landscape development throughout the Northwest Territories through fostering public, government and industry interests in landscape architecture;
  • To provide professional representation for all matters affecting the practice of Landscape Architecture in the Northwest Territories;
  • To provide a link to components of the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects and other landscape architectural associations;
  • To provide a Northwest Territories base for education and information concerning landscape architecture. In this regard, the Association may act as trustee for scholarships, endowments, or trusts of philanthropic nature; and,
  • To promote the profession of landscape architecture.

Members of the NWTALA are guided by a Constitution, Bylaws and Code of Ethics.

Landscape Architecture in the Northwest Territories

Federal Greenstone Building, Yellowknife, 2008. Avens Associates Ltd.

Yellowknife Harbour, winner of a 2013 CSLA National Honour Award (Planning & Analysis)

A Toolkit on Climate Change for Northern Communities

The NWT Association of Communities presents its climate toolkit, which includes the Guide to Climate Change in Your Community. Learn more...

ARCHIVES: The NWTALA Celebrated its 25th Anniversary in 2015

Download the celebration posters...

Contact the NWTALA

P.O. Box 1394, Yellowknife NT  X1A 2P1


CSLA | AAPC 12 Forillon Crescent, Ottawa ON K2M 2W5