Schwabenbauer President’s Award Nomination Guidelines


The Schwabenbauer President’s Award is bestowed upon members of the CSLA in recognition of their unselfish and devoted service to the CSLA at the national level over a period of not less than five years. The Schwabenbauer President’s Award is awarded to an individual who exemplifies the qualities by service to the CSLA by demonstrating:
contributions that have had a substantial meaningful impact on the CSLA as an organization, and/or to the membership; or

  • involvement in the CSLA Congress; or
  • leadership at the component level; or
  • advancement of the CSLA through the nominees’ professional and personal contributions; and
  • a passion and enthusiasm for the profession of landscape architecture.


The individual must be:
  • a landscape architect;
  • a member of the CSLA.

Current members of the CSLA Board of Directors.


An individual may receive only one Schwabenbauer President’s Award in their lifetime.

Nominees may not self-nominate for this award.


Two Schwabenbauer President’s Awards may be presented annually. 


Nominations may be made by the CSLA President, any member of the CSLA (other than the nominee), any component organization of the CSLA, or by any associated organization of the CSLA. 


Thursday, February 1st, 2024 at 4 pm EDT

Selection Criteria

Each nomination is judged for the success with which the nomination package demonstrates the candidate’s service and contribution to the CSLA.  

The CSLA Board of Directors retains the right to request additional information on candidates as deemed necessary during deliberations.  

The CSLA Board of Directors will review all nominations and make the final selection. The CSLA President may also put forward a nomination for this award, which shall be considered by the Board along with other nominations received. 

Announcement and Presentation

The Award recipient is notified by the President and invited to attend the CSLA Annual Congress Dinner where the President’s Award will be awarded. 

Announcement of the President’s Award will be made in the CSLA Bulletin, and by media release and through other CSLA communications methods. By accepting the award, the candidate agrees to allow the CSLA to use their image in the promotion of the Recognition Awards.

CSLA | AAPC 12 Forillon Crescent, Ottawa ON K2M 2W5