Lifetime Achievement Award

The CSLA Lifetime Achievement Award honors a member of the CSLA whose lifetime achievements and contributions to the profession have had a unique and lasting impact on the welfare of the public and on the environment.


Chris Phillips (2020)

Chris Phillips is a Fellow of the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects and a founding partner of PFS Studio, a Vancouver-based landscape architecture, urban design, and planning firm. PFS Studio has received more CSLA design awards than any other firm in Canada, many for projects that Chris has led. Chris has directed a diverse range of acclaimed projects ranging from broad-scale community and campus master plans to the design of parks, open spaces, and the public realm of major urban developments.

Central to Chris’ design philosophy is the importance of public open space in place-making, as a locus of urban public life and culture, and as an opportunity for ecological diversity. Chris’ design approach seeks to reflect regional and site context, collaborate with affected communities and civic decision-makers,demonstrate sustainable innovation, and create inclusive public spaces that enhance and animate city life. Chris encourages the inclusion of public art in his work and is a past Chair of the City of Vancouver Public Art Committee. Chris has shared his extensive professional expertise and innovative thinking on advisory urban design panels, as a member of the Vancouver City Planning Commission, and on numerous art and design juries.

Peter Jacobs (2018)

_MG_8316.JPGPeter Jacobs is Emeritus Professor of the Université de Montréal and Chair of the Heritage Council of Montreal. He is a Fellow and Past President of the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects, Fellow of the American Society of Landscape Architects, Honorary member of the Columbian Society of Landscape Architects, and served as Canada’s delegate to the International Federation of Landscape Architects. He has served on numerous scientific and professional editorial advisory committees, has written, and edited publications related to sustainable and equitable development, landscape perception, and planning theory. He was Chair of the College of Senior Fellows of Dumbarton Oaks where he was appointed the first “Beatrix Farrand Distinguished Fellow”. He served as Chair of the Commission of Environmental Planning of the International Union for the Conservation of Nature, and, after 38 years, has retired as Chair of the Kativik Environmental Quality Commission. He has been a member of numerous design juries and continues to collaborate on planning and design projects, many of which have received professional awards. He was recently named a member of the Royal Canadian Academy of the Arts.

Dr. Douglas Olson (2017)

Douglas_1 Square.jpgDouglas Olson, DDES, MLA, FCSLA, is CEO of O2 Planning + Design. He holds a Doctor of Design from Harvard University, has served as an instructor at the Harvard University Graduate School of Design and is an adjunct professor in the Faculty of Environmental Design at the University of Calgary. He is a fellow of the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects and a member of the American Society of Landscape Architects as well as the International Association of Landscape Ecology. He is also a founding member and Chairman of the SAFE Design Council, a not-for-profit aimed at reducing the risk of crime through informed design. Throughout his 30-year career, Douglas has influenced the planning, design and management of land at multiple scales. From broad-scale regional planning through to detailed, constructed urban projects, he has worked throughout Canada, as well as in Africa, Central America, China, Colombia, Mongolia and the United States. Across scales, his work emphasizes contemporary design, ecological urbanism and landscape ecology.In r ecent years, Douglas has pioneered processes and projects in the field of Geodesign, coupling GIS modelling with design and planning processes. His portfolio demonstrates that landscape architects, working from fine to broad scales, can direct large, interdisciplinary projects founded on design and creativity and supported by analysis, science and technology. 

Robert N. Allsopp (2016)

ROBERT N. ALLSOPP, FCSLA / ARIBA / MRTPI / CIP / OPPI / OALA / MALA (Hon), is an architect, landscape architect and city planner, Robert Allsopp is best known as a leading Canadian urban designer. Through his distinguished career in professional practice and teaching, as well as local community involvement, he has helped shape and influence the making of hospitable, enriching and meaningful urban environments. As a faculty member at the University of Manitoba and later at the University of Toronto, Bob has helped generations of designers to carry forward his commitment to a holistic, open-minded and generous attitude to place-making and community building. He joined the Toronto office of Roger du Toit in 1979 – a firm with shared values of multi-dimensional and inclusive approach to urban design. The partnership of du Toit Allsopp Hillier was formed in 1985 and Bob remains actively involved the expanded partnership of DTAH. He is best known for award-winning urban design projects that have transformed the centre of the Nation’s Capital, including: siting of the National Gallery and Museum of Canadian History; the Ceremonial Routes (Confederation Boulevard); the Parliamentary and Judicial Precincts; and “Views Protection” policies that protect the visual integrity of the Parliament Buildings and other landmarks. Other notable projects include university campus plans for McGill, Guelph, Calgary, Alberta, Manitoba, Queens, Regina and five RCMP training facilities; and central area, district, transit and public realm plans in Toronto and GTA, Ottawa, Regina and Vancouver. Bob gives considerable time to local community and civic affairs. He was a start-up member of the Toronto Design Review Panel and is currently member the Toronto Preservation Board and three local community advisory committees. He has received the OALA Pinnacle Award; Canada Council Award; Fulbright Scholarship, and Royal Institute of British Architects’ Soane Medallion.Robert Norman and Robert N. Allsopp (Photo: Jean Landry)

Edwin John Walker (2013)

Edwin John (Jack) Walker attended the University of Saskatchewan from 1950 to 1955 and obtained a Bachelor of Science degree in Agriculture, specializing in Horticulture. Mr. Walker graduated in 1960 from the University of California at Berkeley with a Bachelor of Landscape Architecture degree. Following employment with a landscape architect, a landscape contractor and a commercial nursery firm in the San Francisco area, he joined the Plant Research Institute in Ottawa in 1961 working on, among other things, developing master plans for various experimental farms across Canada. Education leave permitted him to attend the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, graduating with a Master of Landscape Architecture in 1965. In 1966 Mr. Walker joined the Wascana Centre Authority in Regina, as Director of Maintenance and Development. Since 1975 Mr. Walker has been the Principal of Habitat Design Limited. Mr. Walker has served on the Design Advisory Committee of the Meewasin Valley Authority, and as a sessional lecturer in the Department of Horticulture at the University of Saskatchewan.

From L to R: E.J. (Jack) Walker and Claude Potvin. Photo: J. Landry

John C. Laird (2011)
Fredreich Oemichen (2010)
Patrick Butler (2010)
Macklin Hancock (2009)
Michael Hough (2009)
Donald W. Graham (2008)
Garry Hilderman (2007)
Ron Williams (2007)
Cornelia Hahn Oberlander (2006)





CSLA | AAPC 12 Forillon Crescent, Ottawa ON K2M 2W5