Awards of Excellence

CSLA Announces the Recipients of the 2019 Awards of Excellence: 
Rooted in Clay - WY Garden (Winnipeg, MB) by Straub Thurmayr Landscape Architects is awarded the Jury’s Award of Excellence

This year’s winners demonstrate that, more and more, landscape architects are leading sustainability by promoting a broad vision of our environment and being key players in planning our cities. This year's awards are exemplary in that they demonstrate excellent practice in a multidisciplinary approach in planning and design.

Ottawa – March 19th, 2019 - Today, the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA) announced the recipients of the Awards of Excellence. 

This year, 15 projects received a national award. One project, the Rooted in Clay - WY Garden (Winnipeg, MB) by Straub Thurmayr Landscape Architects, was selected for the Jury’s Award of Excellence, which is given to one project annually which best demonstrates the CSLA’s vision — that of advancing the art, science and practice of landscape architecture. 

These award-winning projects are preeminent examples of Canadian landscape architecture. They illustrate the range of what landscape architects do and how landscape architects are helping to reshape our communities by defining the places where we live, work and play. According to the jury:

This year's awards demonstrate that project excellence doesn't always have to come from big bucks and be of huge scale to make an impact. Projects such as the Jury’s Award of Excellence, Rooted in Clay, or the outdoor play space of Winnipeg's Casa Montessori, or the simplicity of the way finding tools of Escales découvertes (large scale) clearly demonstrate that in many cases, simple approaches can be extremely effective.

Read the press release...

2019 Awards of Excellence Jury

François Courville, AAPQ, CSLA
Doris Chee, OALA, CSLA
David Zielnicki, BCSLA, CSLA
Suzy Melo, MALA, CSLA
Matthew Mills, APALA, CSLA
Michael Cox, RAIC (External Juror)

CSLA Awards of Excellence Jury from Left to Right: Francois Courville, Matthew Mills, Doris Chee, Michael Cox, Suzy Melo, David Zielnicki

About the Awards of Excellence

View images and project descriptions of previous Awards of Excellence laureates in the CSLA's Awards Atlas

The CSLA Awards of Excellence celebrate work that is inspiring, exhilarating, and remarkably diverse. View our previous award recipients to experience the ever-expanding range of landscape architecture in Canada today. The Awards of Excellence honour distinctive design, ground-breaking research, sustainable landscape management and much more. Our CSLA landscape architects revitalize derelict inner-city shorelines and fashion pedestrian-friendly streetscapes. They build avant-garde residential gardens and turn brownfields into sustainable parks. They shape our urban landscapes, spearheading city-wide planning and design. Each year, jurors select exceptional projects across many areas of expertise.

Awards of Excellence Committee


Leanne Muir

CSLA | AAPC 12 Forillon Crescent, Ottawa ON K2M 2W5