Reciprocity Agreement

CSLA Brokers Historic Agreement Allowing Landscape Architects to Have Credentials Recognized and Work in Other Jurisdictions

On July 13th, 2013, eight provincial landscape architecture associations signed a historic agreement to establish the conditions under which a landscape architect, who is a full member in one Canadian jurisdiction (either regulated or non-regulated) is able to have his/her professional membership recognized in another Canadian jurisdiction (either regulated or non-regulated).

In 1979, the CSLA Board of Directors approved a motion encouraging reciprocity amongst provincial associations and struck a committee to examine the question in more detail. Since that time, the CSLA Board of Directors has struck various committees, task forces and working groups to achieve their objective of establishing an agreement between component associations. This involved reviewing membership criteria, establishing common standards and negotiating with up to ten provincial associations at a time. Finally, a group of volunteers drafted an agreement in 2010 which was refined over the next three years.

On the 13th of July, 2013, at the CSLA Congress in Regina, eight out of nine provincial landscape architecture associations signed the Reciprocity Agreement. They are:

  • Atlantic Provinces Association of Landscape Architects
  • Association des architectes paysagistes du Québec
  • Ontario Association of Landscape Architects
  • Manitoba Association of Landscape Architects
  • Saskatchewan Association of Landscape Architects
  • Alberta Association of Landscape Architects
  • Northwest Territories Association of Landscape Architects
  • Nunavut Association of Landscape Architects

The Reciprocity Agreement can be viewed here




CSLA | AAPC 12 Forillon Crescent, Ottawa ON K2M 2W5