

College of Fellows Annual General Meeting Minutes

April 25, 2024 Virtual Meeting

Present: Gordon Smith, Michelle Legault, Wendy Shearer, Gerry Eckford, Joanne Moran, Linda Irvine, Jean Landrey, Janet Rosenburg, Catherine Berris, Chris Grosset, Serge Poitras, Trevor McIntyre, Colleen Mercer Clarke, Bob Somers, Alan Tate, Glenn O'Connor, Faye Langmaid, Neno Kovacevic, Erik Lees, SDG, John Zvonor, Ed Versteeg, Stefan Fediuk, Jim Vafiades, Sue Sirrs, Jill Robertson, Vincent Asselin, Bev Sandalack, Peter, Michel Rousseau, Cynthia, Jane Welsh, Paul Sangha, Virginia Burt, Jim Melvin, Doug Carlyle, Allain Baillargeon, Jeff Philips

The meeting was called to order by Chair Gordon Smith. He indicated that the AGM agenda and the minutes of the 2023 AGM had been posted on the website.

Gordon began the meeting with a Land Acknowledgement recognizing that he was in Mi'kma'ki, the ancestral territory of the Mi'kmaq people. He also acknowledged that people of African descent have been in Nova Scotia, for over 400 years, and he honors and offers gratitude to those ancestors of African descent who came to this land. He asked all participants to take a moment to breathe the air in the space we are and to think about our history and relations with all people.

- 1. Adoption of the Agenda, Moved by Jean Landry and seconded by Janet Rosenburg, Approved.
- 2. Adoption of the 2023 AGM Minutes, moved by Virginia Burt and seconded by Chris Grosset, Approved.
- 3. Chair Gordon Smith introduced the rest of the Executive Committee; Lynda Macdonald Vice Chair, Wendy Shearer Secretary, Peter Briggs Past Chair, Margaret Ferguson CSLA Champion, Ex- Officio and Michelle Legault Ex-Officio.
- 4. Gordon Smith introduced the 2024 Fellows Elect. Ten new members have been selected this year: Elise Shelly, Charlotte Simard, Ingrid Thiessen, Stephano Giannini, Sibylle von Knoblock, Neno Kovacevic, Michael von Hausen, Cameron DeLong, Stephan Fediuk, and Sean Kelly. Virtual congratulations of the Fellows Elect were shared by meeting participants. The in-person investiture ceremony will take place in Winnipeg on May 30.
- 5. College of Fellows Chair Gordon Smith thanked the Jury for their hard work in reviewing the nominations. Jury Chair is Heather Cram and members are Margaret Ferguson, Serge Poitras, Chris Philips, Dan Glenn and Brent Raymond.
- 6. Chair's Annual Report 2023-2024:

The Chair commented on initiatives aimed at increasing the awareness of the Fellows including the successful "Find a Fellow" activity during the annual Congress. He also extended a heartfelt thank you to Michelle and Katherine for their assistance

during the past year in managing and supporting the work of the Fellows. The final annual Report is pending and will be posted when available

7. Secretary's Report:

Wendy Shearer reported that the nomination process for the selection of Fellows Elect has changed to a web-based portal and the nominators and Jury members commented that this new format worked extremely well. Nominators are reminded to highlight work by nominees that demonstrates excellence in addition to professional competence. The Jury has suggested that the closing date for the nomination submissions should be moved to mid December and the Call for Nominations be issued in September. This will avoid having nominations prepared over the holiday season or in early January when many are away. The Executive Committee at the suggestion of the Jury Chair agreed that the composition of the Jury be increased to 8 members to include representatives from Alberta and Saskatchewan. This respects the increased membership from these component organizations. The 8 members will represent BC, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, the North and the Atlantic provinces.

8. LACF Report:

Michelle Legault presented a summary of LACF activities on behalf of Eha Naylor. Members were invited to participate in the LACF AGM on May 1, 2024. Michelle noted the generous donation of Robert Alsop in establishing an annual endowment. She also announced the commitment of the Maglin Site Furniture company to support each of the 8 educational programs for 5 years with a \$5000 yearly grant. The Sustainable Building Council has provided \$10,000 per year to fund research. Gerry Eckford thanked Fellows for their generous donations and reminded members of the value of planning legacy provisions. On behalf of LACF, Michelle acknowledged that the College of Fellows members are key contributors to LACF, and she thanked them for their unwavering support and donations.

- 9. The revised by-law changing the composition of the Jury was discussed. Moved by Glenn O'Connor and seconded by Sue Sirrs that the by-law be amended and the wording be clarified to read: "the Chair of the College of Fellows will seek to ensure..." This addition is to reduce confusion with the Jury Chair. Approved.
- 10. Lynda Macdonald presented preliminary information about creating a mentorship initiative by the College of Fellows. This would be aimed at young and mid-career professionals as well as students. A committee of John George, Jill Roberston and Lynda are working on developing suggestions for consideration for both a formal mentorship process and an informal initiative such as "Find a Fellow". Michelle Legault shared that the student feedback from this activity was very positive and it will be further enhanced at the Winnipeg meeting. Trevor McIntyre thanked the committee for working on this topic.

11. New Business:

Linda Irvine suggested that planning for the 100th Anniversary of the CSLA in 2034 should begin now. Vincent Aselin and Linda will form a Task Force to lead the planning. Vincent is working on commemorating outstanding completed projects in a time line. Gordon Smith and Gerry Eckford are looking into other commemorative opportunities including a commemorative stamp. Linda is supportive of the CSLA archived materials and each school archives being linked for easy access based on themes and regions for research purposes. Colleen Mercer Clarke suggested that in addition to looking at the past century of accomplishment, this is an opportunity for the CSLA to look ahead and establish where the profession is heading.

- 12. Outgoing Chair Gordon Smith thanked Peter Briggs who was Past Chair. He introduced Lynda Macdonald as the incoming Chair and welcomed Jennifer Nagai who has been appointed Vice Chair for the next term. Gordon also thanked Michelle and the CSLA staff again for their work throughout the year and also the new Jury members who have agreed to take on the important role of selecting new College of Fellows members.
- 13. End of Meeting, adjournment.