CSLA's Climate Change Adaptation Committee

In May, 2014, the CSLA Congress, held in Ottawa, focused on climates, adaptations and landscapes. The Congress delegates explored how landscape architects could be leaders in climate-conscious planning and design.

The ultimate objective of the Congress was to encourage landscape architects to integrate options to mitigate and/or to adapt to climate change within short and long-term planning recommendations, to encourage climate sensitive design and to initiate proactive leadership on climate change amongst the related planning and design professions of Canada. David Philips (inset photo by J. Landry), spoke to CSLA members about about how landscape architecture is poised to lead the climate change issue at the 2014 Congress. 

Since that time, the CSLA formed the Committee on Climate Adaptation to:

  • bring national and local perspectives on our changing environment,
  • promote improved understanding of new science, and
  • facilitate the dissemination of emerging tools and lessons learned from shared experience.  

Members of the Committee on Climate Adaptation

Colleen Mercer Clarke, Chair (APALA)
Bev Windjack (BCSLA)
Miriam Mutton (OALA)
Hope Parnham (APALA) 
Jim Thomas (MALA)
Ryan Hennessey (CIP Representative)
Jeff Frank (MALA)
Jane Welsh (OALA)

CSLA | AAPC 12 Forillon Crescent, Ottawa ON K2M 2W5 1-866-781-9799