Teaching Award


The CSLA Teaching Award recognizes an individual who has made a substantial and significant contribution to landscape architecture education. Nominees must be full time or emeritus landscape architecture faculty members who have made sustained, significant contributions to a landscape architecture program.

CLICK HERE to consult the Teaching Award Nomination Guidelines and Form


2016 - Karen Landman

Robert Norman and Karen Landman (Photo: J. Landry)

About Karen Landman: PROFESSOR KAREN LANDMAN has a background in horticulture, landscape architecture, planning, and geography. She has had a design practice for over 20 years, and is a professional planner. Since 2002, she has been a full-time faculty member at the University of Guelph. Karen has been a recipient of the OAC Distinguished Professor Award; the G.P. McRostie Faculty Award for Teaching; the Ontario Professional Planners Institute's Excellence in Planning Award for Communications and Public Education; and the YWCA Women of Distinction for Education and Training. With her wonderful students, Karen conducts research on green infrastructure, urban forest, urban agriculture, ecological sustainability, design for bee habitat, and landscape stewardship. She is currently working with the CSLA’s Landscape Architecture Accreditation Council to update accreditation standards, and is a member of the Nourishing Communities research team.

2015 - John Danahy

Robert Norman, John Danahy & Carol Craig at the 2015 CSLA Congress in Mexico (Photo: J. Landry)

About John Danahy: Professor John Danahy is a Full Professor of Landscape Architecture with a cross appointment in Computer Science at the University of Toronto. He has been a Full Member of the OALA and CSLA since 1985. He graduated from the University of Toronto with a BLA in 1977, a certificate in Urban Design from the Royal Danish Academy of Art in 1978 and a Master of Science in Urban and Regional Planning in 1983 from University of Toronto. He is Co-director of the Centre for Landscape Research, and a member of the Cities Centre and the Knowledge Media Design Institute. He has taught in landscape architecture, urban design, planning, architecture, computer science and knowledge media design. His core teaching included design studios and thesis as well as specialized courses focused on social life and human factors design. Beginning in the early 1980’s he pioneered teaching 3D interactive CAD and GIS using the Polytrim software he and his colleagues in the CLR created to teach landscape architecture and use in practice.

2012 - Cecelia Paine

L to R: Liane McKenna, Cecelia Paine, Claude Potvin (Photo: Jean Landry)

2010 - Ed Fife

2009 - Douglas Paterson

2008 - Peter Jacobs

2007 - Dr. Robert Brown

2006 - Douglas Harper

2006 - Michael Hough

2006 - Richard Strong

2006 - Victor Chanasyk

2006 - Alexander Rattray

2006 - Peter Jacobs

2006 - John Neill