The Community Service Award recognizes public agencies and community groups who have contributed significantly to environmental responsibility. These awards provide an opportunity to develop awareness of others who share the CSLA’s goals and to promote the profession's commitment to environmental sustainability.

CLICK HERE to view the Community Service Awards Nomination Guidelines and Form


2016 - SOVERDI

Robert Norman and Pierre Bélec (Photo: J. Landry)

About SOVERDI: SOVERDI, the Société de verdissement du Montréal Métropolitain, is an NPO established in 1992 with  the mission of ‘greening-up’ the Montreal landscape by planting the right tree in the right place. Its action aims to significantly increase the urban forest and to "democratize green" to improve the health and quality of life of Montrealers. A leader in urban greening, Soverdi favours a participatory approach to its interventions. The communities and local stakeholders are all invited to join together as agents of change and take part in Montreal’s great green alleyways project. Commissioned by the city of Montreal, SOVERDI coordinates the planting of trees on private and institutional properties referred to in the Canopy Action Plan (PAC). It brought together 40 partners under the Alliance forêt urbaine, the largest consultation table in Montreal for the planting of trees, in order to meet the ambitious challenge of planting 180,000 trees over the next ten years for the benefit of all Montrealers. In 2015, 10,000 trees were thus planted under the Urban Forest Action Plan, through more than 100 different projects. A significant undertaking, which was successfully accomplished thanks to the collaboration of our partners in the Alliance, the ‘A tree for my neighborhood’ campaign, various greening packages offered in industrial and commercial districts as well as other projects carried out on school boards’ and health care properties.

2012 - Ecology Action Centre

Claude Potvin and Louise Hanavan of the Ecology Action Centre at the CSLA Congress in Halifax in 2012. (Photo: J. Landry)

2012 - Elinor Gill Ratcliffe

Eleanor Gill Ratcliffe.

2011 - Iqaluit Greenhouse Society

2011 - Bill Mackenzie Humanitarian Society

2010 - Sol Rothinger, River Alliance

2007 - 1000 Islands - Frontenac Arch Bishop Reserve

2006 - Denis Savoie

2003 - Rotary Clubs of Calgary

2000 - Partnership for Saskatchewan River Basin and Saskatchewan Wetland Conservation Corporation

2000 - Friends of the Central Experimental Farm, Ottawa

1995 - Maurice F. Storing, Ontario Hydro

1995 - The Hon. W.Yvon Dumont, Lt Gov of Manitoba

1994 - General Motors of Canada Ltd.